Tuesday, 4 February 2020

India vs New Zealand 1st ODI 2020 Match Schedule, Players, and Details

India vs New Zealand 1st ODI 2020 Match Schedule, Players, and Details

India vs New Zealand 1st ODI 2020 Match
India vs New Zealand 1st ODI 2020 Match

India had some setbacks in the T20I series against New Zealand. However, Virat Kohli and co kept themselves out of jail and scored a 5–0 whitewash. Two games in Hamilton and Wellington also went to Super Over. The Men in Blue is now set to participate in three ODIs, the first of which is scheduled to take place on Wednesday 5 February in Seddon Park, Hamilton.

Both teams are missing some of their key members due to injury concerns. Nevertheless, keeping the numbers in mind, the Kiwi can be considered a favorite. In Hamilton, the host team has won 20 out of 27 ODIs. Last year, he dismissed India for 92 after Trent Boult's fifty.

But going into the next game, India have a lot of potential due to their recent form.

The last time the two teams met in the 50-over format, New Zealand bowled out of the World Cup with an 18-run victory in the second semi-final in Manchester in a two-day match.

India whitewashed the five-match T20 series on Sunday (2 February). However in the ODI series, no team will be at full strength as the team's big players will be missing due to injuries.

Apart from Rohit, 'The Men in Blue' is already missing Shikhar Dhawan, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Deepak Chahar. Mayank Agarwal was named as Rohit's replacement for the ODI series on Tuesday afternoon. And captain Virat Kohli said that he would stick to the strategy adopted against Australia in Rajkot, where KL Rahul would be keeping and also batting at number five.

Ind vs Nz 1st ODI Details

When: New Zealand v India, 1st ODI, February 5, 15:00 Local, 07:30 IST

Where: Seddon Park, Hamilton

What to Expect: Exactly 12 months ago, India came to Seddon Park with a 3-0 lead in the ODI series and were humbled by the swinging ball as Trent Boult ran through them and polished them off for 92. So there's at least one good memory that the Kiwis can look back at from last year, with regards to this venue anyway. It's a rather late start, again courtesy the need to cater to the Indian audience's convenience, just like last year. The two teams trained under a searing sun and very sultry conditions on the eve of the match. The forecast for match day is much more pleasant and dew is unlikely to play much of a role later in the day.

India vs New Zealand 1st ODI 2020 Match
India vs New Zealand 1st ODI 2020 Match

New zealand

Black Caps captain Kane Williamson has sprained his left shoulder and is not part of the first two ODIs. Mark Chapman is named as his replacement. Kane did not even play the last two T20Is. An out-of-form Martin Guptill and Henry Nicholls will open the batting for the Black Caps.

Ross Taylor remains an important team in his setup. James Neesham is coming off a superb List A against India A, where he took 11 wickets and scored 141 runs in four matches. De Grandhomme and Santner also add value to their lineup. The focus will also be on Kiwis talent bowler Kyle Jamieson.


Prithvi Shaw is all set for his ODI debut, which was confirmed by Virat Kohli. Mayank Agarwal replaces Rohit Sharma, who gripped his calf in the last T20I. Agarwal is likely to be Shaw's opening partner in the series opener. Captain Virat Kohli will look for a good score after being dismissed in T20I.

KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer should be keen to repeat their performances in ODIs as well. Manish Pandey can be seen in Wellington after his 50s. Shami and Bumrah Pace will head the department. Ravindra Jadeja was economical in the T20I and would be a key element for India.

The two teams for this series are as follows-

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (WK), Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Dubey, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Jaspreet Bumrah, Sharda. Thakur, Navdeep Saini.
New Zealand: Tom Latham (captain and WK), Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Jimmy Neesham, Scott Kugleijn, Tom Blundell, Henry Nichols, Mitchell Sentner, Hamish Bennett, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Kyle Jamieson, Mark Jamman.